Short Story: My Husband, his Mistress and I THE END

My Husband his Mistress and I pic

It’s been almost a month since my Husband’s weekend break with his mistress.

What he says still troubles me and I want to confront him about it, but at the same time I’m stuck. His affair is like a drug and I’m addicted. I like watching him come up with new and inventive reasons as to why he’s coming home lane. I love putting on my trench coat; yeah I went out to buy one, to follow him around. I’ve even had my car windows tinted. It’s all very cloak and dagger. I’m getting bolder with the hints I’m dropping him. I think he’s beginning to suspect I know something is going on. But I can’t stop and why should I stop when he can’t either?

“Hey my darling?” I say when my Husband walks through the door.

He gives me, what I can now recognise as a tight smile. I can’t believe I didn’t realise until he mentioned it to his mistress.

I watch him carefully as he goes over to the sink to wash his hands. He sets his briefcase on the table, takes his coat off, hangs it up on the fifth hook, checks the time then begins to wash his hands.

Something’s never change.

I follow him into the bedroom.

“What’s the matter?” He says in alarm.

I’m deviating from our usual routine; we normally have a ten minute conversation about our day before we eat dinner.

“Nothing, I’ve just missed you that’s all.” I say honestly.

“Vivian we can talk at the dinner table.” He says.

I sigh and walk to the door. I hesitate as I watch him meticulously fold the clothes he is taking off.

“You don’t like it when I say darling do you?” I say, unable to keep quiet about it any longer.

I see the alarm flash across his features before he is able to cover it up.

“Wha-what makes you say that?” He stammers.

I chuckle internally before I walk back into the room.

“But you don’t do you?” I press.

Marcus shakes his head very slowly an intense look on his.

“Then I’ll stop saying it. I’m also going to stop attending those pretensions lunches that the partners at your law firms wives like to throw, I’ll only go to the big events to help you.” I add, whiles I’m on a roll I might as well get it all out in the open.

Marcus is staring at me open mouthed.

“Thank you Vivian,” he says after a long moment.

“I just wanted to get that out there,” I say with a shrug before walking back to the kitchen.

I’m in the kitchen mulling over my victory when Marcus comes in.

‘O no!’ I feel myself panicking at the look on his face.

“I love you Vivian,” he says staring at me.

I relax.

“I love you too.”

“I didn’t realise you found the lunches so boring,”

“I would do anything for you.” I say firmly. “Even say darling, despite how much I hate that word.” I force a laugh trying to make light of the situation.

I can feel him starting to crack.

“Why didn’t you say anything Vivian?” He paces around the room in agitation, “all this time I thought, but…” He trails off.

‘O God O no,’ I think frantically, I’ve pushed him too far, I thought the sly hints I was always dropping would do it, but my honesty finally brought out his lie.

2 comments on “Short Story: My Husband, his Mistress and I THE END

  1. Joseph says:

    An extremely dramatic story, loved it. Just need to know one thing. On a scale of 1 – 10 how hot is Michaela? I assume 11 if she is able to cause a loving husband to cheat on his beautiful intelligent wife, this type of thing is unheard.

Leave a Reply

