Short Story: My Husband, his Mistress and I part 14

My Husband his Mistress and I pic

I debate what to do, I can hardly sleep in the Yaris, but I don’t want to draw attention to myself. Just as I’ve finally decided to go and check-in Marcus walks back outside on his phone.

I hear my own phone ring and hastily answer it.

“Hey, Viv, how’s Yasmin?” He says, looking tense.

“O hi Marcus,” I whisper, “everyone is fine.”

“Why are you whispering?” He says.

“O you know the kids are sleeping?”

“At seven in the evening, don’t tell me you spiked the drinks again.” He says laughing.

I watch him laugh and he looks so carefree, so unlike how he is at home with me.

“That happened one time, and it can’t be proven in court.” I defend.

He laughs harder and I feel myself start to smile at his genuine amusement.

“Anyway erm,” his humour leaves and I see him shifting from one foot to the other, “very busy here, still working.”

“O yeah, well work hard.” I say. “I should let you get back to it, see you later my darling,”

But for some reason he tenses and a look of annoyance flashes across his features.

“O Okay, say hi to my favourite two terrors,”

“Will do, bye,” I say and click the phone off before he can respond.

I watch him carefully this is the fourth time I’ve noticed that he has tensed when I’ve said; ‘darling’, which is strange since he started the trend. He just stares at the phone in his hand for a few moments.

Leave a Reply

