Short Story: My Husband, his Mistress and I

My Husband his Mistress and I pic I look up at my husband and read the guilt, shame and remorse in his eyes, I feel anger for the first time, true anger that has me shaking and my ears ringing, because my husband is about to say something that will most likely ruin my life, ruin everything. My husband is about to confess; he’s been having an affair for the past three months and what has me so angry I feel murderous is that I don’t want him to confess. I don’t want him to stop.

He opens his mouth and I bite back my scream of frustration and I brace myself. I shouldn’t have pushed him so far this time; I should have known that this game I’ve been playing would come to an end. He’s about to say it and I don’t want him to, because I desperately want him to continue. My husband the predictable, dependable square, sneaking around, lying to me, getting inventive with his excuses so that he can lead this double life, this affair he’s been having with this other woman. I almost smile at how she will respond to this, and I remember how it all began.

One comment on “Short Story: My Husband, his Mistress and I

  1. Alan says:

    Very interesting…please post more!

Leave a Reply

