Short Story: So…I accidentally kidnapped my teacher Part 4

“How did this happen?” Drew said quietly.

“Yes George! How the hell do you accidently kidnap someone?!” Jamal said throwing his hands in the air.

“Shush, for goodness sakes, do you want the neighbours to hear, we could all go to prison.” George said frantically, as he ran over to peek through the windows.

“We?” Jamal said incredulously. “We aren’t going anywhere! We are not going to prison, maybe you are, but Drew and I are innocent.” Jamal said heading towards the door.

George stared after him in shock, he had never seen Jamal act so scared, nothing scared Jamal, maybe his Dad, and he was usually away on business.

“Jamal, wait, I need your help!” George said, running after him.

“No way!” Jamal said.

“We are already involved anyway, unless we report you George, we could go to prison we already know.” Drew said nodding.

“Drew shut up!” Jamal snapped.

“My dad’s a lawyer, I heard it, it’s called aiding and abetting.” Drew went on undeterred.

“O great! Thanks a lot George, we are all going to prison, do you know what they do to kids in prison?!” Jamal said exasperated.

George shook his head.

“Exactly! There are no kids in prison, they get killed right away.” Jamal said looking at Drew who shrugged.

“I don’t know about kids in prison, I know teenagers go to Juvenile detention, Jamal you’re a teenager now, you don’t have to die.” Drew said.

George and Jamal both sighed.

“Look, I didn’t want to involve you, I just really need your help –”

“You need my help! Just let them go!” Jamal said, looking around, “Where are they?” He said voice hushed.

George smiled a little as he realised Jamal was staying.

“She’s in the basement.” George said, his voice also hushed.

“A basement? O my God, who has a basement, apart from Americans, I’d understand if Drew had a basement –”

“My Dad is American, and he doesn’t have a basement.” Drew said, walking towards the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

