Short Story: Cyber’s Ghost Part Six

“Was that you Jared?” Jade said slowly, walking into his room.

Jared looked up from his laptop.

“Was it?” She said again, hands on her hips, she was wearing her customary ripped jeans, and black top.

“I didn’t mean to.” He said quietly.

Jade blinked a few times. “Wow, that was on the news.”

“I didn’t mean to do it.” He said in a rush, when he saw the look on her face.

“Did you find him?” Jade said.

Jared shook his head. “No, I…I haven’t used my ability in a long time, I was just trying to get used to it, and…well someone was in trouble.”

“J, you’re not supposed to –” She began.

“I know! Don’t you think I know how dangerous what I can do is?” He said folding his arms, he had been really worried about everyone affected by the blackout he had caused yesterday, but he had been more worried about George, who thankfully hadn’t been found.

“I’m sorry, you feel like you can’t do something you’re supposed to. It’s like me, I can draw, and if someone told me I couldn’t draw because it was too dangerous, I don’t know if I could stop.” Jade said, sitting down in her favourite spot, on the floor near his radiator.

“Well I have to, when I’m in, I see so many things, and I can’t help but help.” Jared paused. “I just wish I could control it. I’ll find him, I promise, then I’ll stop, I have to.” He looked over at her.

“One day, you’ll find control, I know it. Gifts are supposed to be used, and you always use yours for good.” Jade said.

Leave a Reply

