Short Story: Doctor Luella Lee part nine

Name: Valery Asante

Occupation: Student

Age: 15

Evaluation: After nearly three months of therapy, Miss Asante has improved in leaps and bounds, her Doctors report that she hasn’t missed a single day of medication, even when she has relapses in with her illness, she is still on top of her medication and her school work, Valery. The turnaround in Valery is extraordinary however Valery herself still feels like she needs to attend therapy regularly in order to stay on the proverbial ‘band wagon’.

The patient

“Hi Luella,” Valery says smiling as she makes herself comfortable on the couch, her uniform is as crisp and as clean as always.

“Luella, I’m pleased to see you are looking well.” Luella says returning her smile easily.

“Thank you, I have good news I haven’t gotten an internship at a newspaper.” Valery says beaming.

“That’s amazing, I’m very proud of you Val!” Luella says with feeling.

“Thank you Luella, if it wasn’t for you I wouldn’t be where I am –”

“I didn’t do anything Val, it was all you, you decided to take your medication, you decided to turn your life around, you decided to apply for that internship, you got in. Therapy is good for you, but I will be the first to admit if the person isn’t willing, and Val you have been more than willing.” Luella says.

Valery smiles hesitantly. “I just feel like I’m going to slip back without you, I don’t trust myself.” She admits slowly.

“Why not?” Luella asks slowly.

“Because I know who I am, I’m not –”

“You are better than you know, Valery you are an autonomous being! Did anyone tell you to apply for that internship?”

Valery shakes her head slowly. “No.”

“Then why did you apply for it? I didn’t tell you to?” Luella says calmly.

“I want to?” Valery says phrasing the answer like a question.

“Pardon?” Luella says fighting back a smile.  “I didn’t hear you.”

“I said I want to.” Valery says a little louder.

“You what?” Luella says smiling now.

Valery smiles. “I wanted to apply, so I did.”

“And you’re going to be the best intern they have ever had aren’t you?” Luella says firmly.

“Yes.” Valery says confidently.

“Do you know why? Because you can do anything.” Luella says smiling widely.

Valery nods and whispers reverently. “Anything.”

Leave a Reply

