Bumping into you part 5

Farid

“I’m in Hammersmith, so I won’t be there –”

“Your closing the deal first?” Farid asked, trying to reign in his temper.

“I’m sorry okay, slip of mind?” Penny replied carelessly.

“Slip of mind? I’m locked out and that’s the best you can do?” He shook his head as he stared up at the pouring rain.

“Go to the bar down the road, the spread eagle, I have a tab there okay, I’m sorry I really have to go.” she clicked off the phone before he could reply.

Farid shook his head, and vowed to order the most expensive drinks on her tab; he turned and almost knocked someone over.

“Sorry” he said automatically, reaching to steady the small arms of his neighbour.

“It’s okay.” came her breathless voice from within the biggest umbrella he had ever seen.

“I’m surprised you can see from under that thing.” he said helping her close the umbrella which, seemed to be putting up a valiant effort to remain open.

She looked up at him and smiled. “I didn’t want my hair getting wet.” She said sheepishly.

He nodded and glanced up at the weather again, usually the idea of spending someone else’s money at a bar would have appealed but he was tired, having put long hours of work all week, all month maybe all year, he felt a little unsteady on his feet.

“Hmm?” he said to his neighbour. ‘I don’t even know her name’ he thought absently as he glanced down at his phone and contemplated going to one of his friends’ houses instead.

“I said you can hang out at my place until your fiancé gets here?” she phrased it like a question.

He looked up, “You don’t have to.” he said already glancing in the way of her apartment.

“It’s fine.” she said already walking towards her apartment.

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/11108677/?claim=j8rbgubrr27″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Leave a Reply

