Short story: The Tate Therapy part 5

He took a step also and said.

“It’s actually not completely pitch-black when you enter, light still gets in, kind of disappointing really” He said thoughtfully.

We took a few more steps in, I expected the light to completely swallow us in, despite, Adrian’s claim, but he was right, I could see.

“Impressed?” He said softly.

We were at the end of the Box, I could faintly see Megan staring at us with a small smile on her face, from a few feet away. I had a hand on the Box, the texture surprised me it was soft and a little warm.

“Very” I said calmly.

 

Suddenly I felt Angelina’s arms around me, she was crying.

“Lily?” She asked her voice thick with emotion.

“Yes?” I whisper.

“You are the bravest person I know, I am so very proud of you.”

I smile my eyes filling with tears.

She smiles at me then looks thoughtful for a long while, and then a huge smile spreads across her face before she says:

“I am glad you went with a friend! I was going to suggest that next week, you beat me to it! You are making so much progress this month!” She looks at me with so much pride that I blush.

I nod.

“Is it because his appeal has been denied and the judge refused him to ever appeal again” Angelina said softly.

“I don’t have to worry about him coming after me anymore. I guess I’m free” I say quietly.

I look up into Angelina’s tear-streaked face and smile.

“Do you want to know more about Adrian?”

Angelina blinked in surprise at the change in topic.

“Go on” Angelina said excitedly

My smile wideness.

Leave a Reply

