Film Script: Daises, Lilies and Snowdrops part 2

LILY

Do you hear that?

SNOW

Are they arguing?

LILY

Go and check

SNOW

Okay

 

CLOSE-SHOT – SNOW – she creeps out of the room – with exaggerated movements into a well lit corridor – into the landing – which is dimly lit – she goes down a few steps – we hear indistinct voices – she goes down a few more.]

 

ZETTA

We can take her somewhere else – it doesn’t have to be London – I hear Portsmouth is getting safer

ETHAN

No – once they have targeted London – its only a matter of time before they hit the other major cities – no where is safe – its far too dangerous right now

 

CLOSE-SHOT – SNOW – she appears slightly confused and upset – camera pans over the staircase to WIDE-SHOT of a living room [a wide flat screen is on the right side – both Zetta and Ethan sit on the same couch watching the news and specking – they both in their early 30’s – they appear slightly frightened at the news on the TV]

 

ZETTA

But Ethan – we promised – it’s only once a year – we can’t shield her forever

ETHAN

I would rather shield her than lose her, we can’t lose her!

 

CLOSE –SHOT – ETHAN – he appears distressed – Zetta puts her arm round him

 

ZETTA

I know – I just wonder sometimes if we are doing the right thing by her – keeping her cooped up in here – cut off from civilization

 

MEDIUM SHOT- ETHAN AND ZETTA

 

ETHAN

I wonder also – but the thought of losing her – forever, I simply couldn’t go on –

ZETTA

We won’t lose her – I just don’t want to lose her another way – by pushing her away – she is getting older – she has started asking so many questions

ETHAN

(laughs) She has always asked so many questions

ZETTA

More than usual – I don’t know how to answer them

ETHAN

Just tell her; – ‘when you are older’ – its what I do – but she is getting big – but we really can’t do anything – I’m stuck between a rock and a hard place – crime is at an all time high – and this new bomb scare. We just can’t risk it – It will have to be next year –

ZETTA

Next year

ETHAN

Yes – just one more year worry free – it’s all I ask

ZETTA

Yeah, okay – but I think we have to tell her soon – I saw her making lists of places she wanted to go – it will break her heart – better safe than sorry I guess

ETHAN

Exactly – I’ll take her up a square of chocolate when I tuck her in tonight. We’ll have to sit her down and tell her together – have a little talk. I just wish there could be another way.

 

WIDE-SHOT – LIVING ROOM –

Zetta and Ethan are holding hands – camera pans to Snow

Leave a Reply

