Poems: Love spoke but hate replied

Love spoke but hate replied

Love said: 

Said I one day to my dear loved one

As we two sat under the warm sun;

 

I want to write a song for love

To show you that loves fair and kind

Don’t question who it’ll just be us two

 

Said he: Love is love and what is that?

So I replied; Come with me we’ll chit and chat

 

Love is light and pleasing

At times you’ll find a little teasing

 

Love will always win out

Don’t you see that’s what it’s all about

 

‘And our love is right, so very strong

That’s why it can never ever, be wrong

 

I love love, as you can see

And my love loves me

So let me write a song for love

To show you that love

Well that’s all it’s about.

 

Hate replied:

Said I one day to the looking glass

As I sat, I recalled the loves once pass

 

I want to write a song for love

To show love that it’s neither fair nor kind

Some will say I am out of my mind

 

So I got out my paper and pen

To write a note to all of men

 

Love isn’t at all pleasing

Just an array of pranks and lots of teasing

I heard love wins out

From where I sit I truly doubt

 

They said my love was too strong

Was that why, said he that it was so wrong?

 

I hate love as I’m sure you can see

And love has always hated me

So let me write a song for love

To show love that

Well thanks but that’s not what I’m about.

Leave a Reply

