Poems: Villanelle: That Loving Wretch

That Loving Wretch

My heart would have its way

It picks and chooses

It’s insensible to all I say

 

My head will keep away

But the heart would have its muses

It simply wants its way

 

My heart will not sway

My head, it clearly loses

The heart is insensible to all I say

 

I want some other, but he won’t stay

As the heart, it refuses

It only wants its way

 

All night all day, I plead, I pray

My heart will have no excuses

It’s insensible to all I say

 

Maybe some day

My heart will say; okay

But for now, my heart would have its way

It’s truly insensible to all I say.

Leave a Reply

