Plays: Heart Problems: Scene 3

Scene 3: Rose and Tamin’s apartment: the dining room

 

                         FX: slight music playing in the background, Megan drinks some wine, clinking of glasses can be heard. Rose finishes up her medium-rare steak, soft sound of scraping of cutlery on a plate can be heard.

MEGAN:        Rose you have really out-done yourself I am stuffed, let’s just not think about how much I actually put away and how much weight I’m going to gain, then I’m good (laughs)

TAMIN:          You know Megan I did help

MEGAN:        uh huh really what did you do? Boil the water?

ROSE:             (Laughs) No he didn’t boil the water, he actually did help

TAMIN:          See, thanks baby

MEGAN:        I get it; he stood in the kitchen, looking cute?

ROSE:             Yeah exactly, it’s actually really hard to do

TAMIN:          Very funny girls, where did John go anyway?

MEGAN:        (Sighs) He had a business call to take, he has quite a lot of those, I don’t really know if I want to keep this one, I mean –

ROSE:             Meg don’t drive another one away, you go through guys really quickly, it’s not like –

MEGAN:        Well why should I settle? I have my whole life ahead of me, I’m only young, and anyway I didn’t say I was going to break up with him just that –

ROSE:             But how do you know?

MEGAN:        (Confused) How do I know what?

ROSE:             (Sad, soft tone) That you have forever? I mean no one really knows how long they have. Do they? We could all die? Just die? We could all be dying right now and not even realise it.

                          (BEAT)

TAMIN:          erm Rose?

ROSE:             (Coughs loudly, breaths deeply then laughs) Melodramatic I know! I’ve just been watching so many disaster films lately, you know me

(Silence stretches)

MEGAN:        (Concerned) Rose are you okay?

FX: Knock at door can be heard. Door swings open Michael enters.  Michaels footsteps can be heard on the carpeted surface, Door swings shut.

MICHAEL:     (apologetic) Sorry to intrude

                            FX: Michael shuffles around uncomfortably – shuffling of his feet can be heard on the carpeted floor. Soft music is still playing

TAMIN:          (Irritated) What’d you doing here Michael?!

MICHAEL:     (quietly) Well I, erm I just wanted to see how Rose was –

TAMIN:          (Cuttingly) Rose is fine. I am here; do you make house calls to all your patients?

ROSE:             (Firmly) All right let’s stop this, too much testosterone in this room. Tam it’s okay. Thanks for stopping by Michael honestly, but I’m fine, really –

                            FX: Rose gets up, scrapping of her chair can be heard. She steps in between them.

MICHAEL:     Rose I just want to –

TAMIN:          (Between clenched teeth) She said she is fine! Nothing else to talk about, I’ll call you a cab

MICHAEL:     (Heatedly) Unlike you, I can afford to own my own car Tamin, and really this behaviour is hardly appropriate, Rose is –

TAMIN:          (Incredulous) My behaviour is inappropriate, looks who’s talking! Why are you stopping by her place at night?!

MICHAEL:     (Coldly) I thought she was alone. I didn’t –

ROSE:             (Loudly) Okay seriously stop! Stop this!

TAMIN:          (Angry) More like you didn’t realise I’d moved in! You’re trying to slink your way back into her life!

MICHAEL:     (Indignant) No I was –

TAMIN:          (Angry) You was what?! I want you out! Get out!

ROSE:             (Yells) STOP! Just stop it! Michael I’ll call you tomorrow! Tamin a word! Now!

MICHAEL:     Rose I could stay just to –

FX: Michael leaves the dining room; the door swings open, then closed

TAMIN:          She said you should leave

ROSE:             Tamin!

MEGAN:        (Hesitantly, awkwardly) Rose, erm do you know what, I’m gonna go, but I’ll call you tomorrow okay?

                         FX: Megan gets up and leaves, scrapping of her chair can be heard, door swings open then closed.

ROSE:             (Softly) Wait Megan. (Angrily) O Great, thanks Tamin, thanks a lot Are you Happy now?! What the hell where you –

TAMIN:          Rose listen–

ROSE:             (Outraged) No let me finish damn it! I can’t believe you just did that! Embarrassed me like that. He was just checking up on me, showing he cares, at least someone does! I really can’t believe you Tamin –

TAMIN:          Rose – I just

ROSE:             (Angry and tearful) There’s not even an explanation in the world that could possibly do right now. You have totally ruined my dinner; driven my doctor out of here, made a scene in front of my friends, and you know how I hate it when people make scenes. You where totally out of order Tamin. I don’t need this kind of stress right now I really don’t!

TAMIN:          (Indignant) Rose I just, he’s still in love with you. I don’t know how you can’t see that! He’s trying to drive a wedge between us –

ROSE:             No Tam, you are doing that all by yourself.

                         FX: Rose walks out – she slams the door

 

One comment on “Plays: Heart Problems: Scene 3

  1. Anger Help says:

    After searching through on the internet I discovered your guide Plays: Heart Problems: Scene 3 chocolateistheonlycure and considered it incredibly engaging. There is some nice concepts here. Your site visitors may perhaps like to take a look at my report about anger. Thank You.

Leave a Reply

